All police members of the Manitoba First Nations Police Service are sworn Peace Officers within the Province of Manitoba and have jurisdiction throughout the Province.  

The Police Service is authorized by fifty-six (56) members employed at one of the eight (8) detachments. Our Chief of Police, Inspector of Operations and Inspector of Support Services along with two (2) Criminal Investigators and one (1) Crime Prevention School Resource Officer/Crime Prevention Coordinator, which is presently a civilian position, are located at Headquarters in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba.   

Each detachment employs a Detachment Services Assistant (DSA), with the exception of our Sandy Bay Detachment and Opaskwayak Detachment which have 2 DSA’s.  There are five (5) Support Staff employed at MFNPS Headquarters to maintain administrative, financial, personnel, investigative and CPIC files.  

The Police Service provides employment for guards, matrons and maintenance personnel within the respective communities.  

Manitoba First Nations Police Service is divided into three divisions, East, West and North Division.  Presently a Sergeant and/or Corporal supervise each Detachment.  This member has complete control of all operations of the Detachment.  He/she is required to meet with the local Chief & Council, Local Police committee and other committees on a regular basis to ensure that the services being provided meet the needs of the community.

© 2020 Manitoba Police. All Rights Reserved
Built & Designed by